| English
Detective series | Books | Young adult & children books | Web Back | Next author


Lorenzo Silva was born in Madrid in 1966. He is one of the leading writers of his generation, famous for his crime stories starring detectives Bevilacqua and Chamorro, 5 murder novels El lejano país de los estanques, El alquimista impaciente, La niebla y la doncella, La reina sin espejo, El blog del inquisidor, La estrategia del agua, Los cuerpos extraños y Donde los escorpiones (all published by Destino) featuring detective Ruben Bevilacqua, a bachelor in his late thirties, and his young assistant Virginia Chamorro, representing the new generation of Spain’s Guardia Civil, which has nothing in common with its infamous predecessors. Brilliant in themselves, the stories are enhanced by the subplots Silva weaves around the relationship between Bevilacqua and Chamorro, which are as interesting as the primary plot. The verbal humour adds greatly to the sheer delight of reading these novels.
He has also written La flaqueza del bolchevique, El nombre de los nuestros, La sustancia interior and Carta Blanca, Niños feroces, La marca del meridiano and some books for young adults and children. Música para feos (Destino, 2014) is his lastest novel.
He comes over as a writer of intelligence and sensibility and writes for our time. He won the Ojo Crítica prize in 1998, the Nadal prize in 2000, the Primavera Prize in 2004 and the Planeta Prize 2012.

"Silva, also the creator of a successful series of detective novels, exemplifies tough, intelligent Spanish noir" Julius Purcell, The Financial Times, 2015




Laure Merle d´Aubigné - Literary Agent - A.C.E.R. - C/ Amor de Dios 1 - 28014 Madrid - Spain